top of page

Talk with Matt Gilchrist the character artist for Wholey Moley

Our character artist has been working hard to bring our characters to life. Garron and Guaca were a lot of fun to make. Garron took a little longer than Guaca because of his accessories and Assymetric design.

He also had two versions. One of them being a lot less stocky, and a bit more toony, whereas the new one took on a bit more muscle and width.

Both versions were fun, but ultimately the most recent version of him fit the style a bit better.

Guaca was finished, implemented in the game in 2 days, and animated on the third. It was a good challenge for me to see how fast i could push my pipeline for character development.

Mostly, the characters have been great for my personal art development. I've been able to solidify my knowledge in all stages of the character pipeline.

From a prevoius 6 week character project, to then making Garron (both variants) in 2 weeks, and finally making Guaca in 2 days, I can say that consistent practice really does improve your skills.

This project has had its challenges, changes and disagreements, but I can honestly say I've had so much fun and learnt heaps from this experience.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page